banjo · By Murphy

The Cat and The Banjo

Murphy Henry

You’ve heard of the Cat in the Hat? (It’s a favorite around here right now!) Well, Tom McFadden sent me this picture of the Cat and the Banjo and the story that goes with it:

 

Tom and Roxie

“We have had a stray cat hanging around our house, but it is the friendliest cat I have ever seen. You’ve heard of lap dogs, well this is a lap cat. Now you have to understand our home and animals, we have a Noah’s Ark. We have a dog, two cats, two red ear slider turtles and a corn snake. This cat is so friendly that we are thinking of adopting it and taking it into our home. What is really sealing the deal as far as I am concerned is that this cat loves banjo music. The last several days have been very warm and I have been picking my banjo on my front porch. This cat sits next to me on the chair as I pick, and one time it even climbed up on my shoulder as I played songs. I’ve seen pictures of a person with a parrot on their shoulder, but never a cat on a person’s shoulder as they pick their banjo. Well anyways, any cat who loves the banjo as much as this cat deserves to be adopted and have a good home.”

And, of course, that is exactly what happened!
“I am going to ask my daughter to email a picture of the stray cat that we adopted. This was the cat I told you about that came by while I was picking my banjo on the front porch and she would sit next to me or even climb up on my shoulder while I picked my banjo. Roxy is her name.”

So, welcome to the world of bluegrass, Roxy! I’m glad Tom has a warm and friendly listener. Everyone needs an audience!

One thought on “The Cat and The Banjo

Leave a comment