By Casey · General

The Words

Casey Henry

Last week I posted a video of me playing “There’s A Little Cabin,” a lullaby that my Grandmother used to sing to us when we were small. Many of you asked about the words. Grandmother passed away last Friday and I played that arrangement at her funeral, which was really a beautiful service, held at the Clarkesville Baptist Church where she was a member. It still smelled exactly the same as when my brother and I used to attend with her when we stayed in Clarkesville when we were little. We sometimes went to vacation bible school there. I still remember playing Red Rover on the church lawn.

This tune was the last thing in the service, right before the closing hymn, “Now I Belong to Jesus.” I’m glad I didn’t have to try and sing it. As it was my nose was dripping while I was playing. At least no one seems to have noticed that.

So in remembrance of Grandmother, here are the words we so frequently heard after she packed us down in the bed, as we were drifting off to sleep in the nursery.

There’s A Little Cabin

Verse 1
There’s a little cabin where the honeysuckle twines,
Where the cotton grows, where the Suwanee flows.
If you chance to find it, you will find that girl of mine,
She’s my sweet Virginia rose.

Chorus
Carry me back to that old-fashioned shack,
There by the stream, just let me dream.
Virginia moonlight look down from above,
Guard the one I’m thinking of.

Verse 2
Someday I’ll be roaming in the gloaming once again,
With my blushing bride, nestling by my side.
Hope we reach a preacher man to tie the knot and then,
Guess that I’ll be satisfied.

6 thoughts on “The Words

  1. Casey, thanks for the memories. I’ve know your grandparents all of my life. I grew up with your Mom and Laurie (mostly with Laurie…we’re the same age). Your Grandma was the textbook definition of a true Southern lady. May God bless you and your family. Take care.
    Mark

    Like

  2. Casey,

    Thank you so much for the sweet story and for posting the lyrics to the lullaby. I’m very sorry about your loss.

    Like

  3. Casey, I’m very sorry to hear about the loss of your Dear Grandmother. I’m sure she is singing the song with the angels now.

    Like

  4. Casey, I am devastated to hear of the death of your dear grandmother. She was alays so good and kind to me. I am so sorry for all of your dear family.

    Like

Leave a comment